Level 3 Award in Supervising Food Safety

Those who operate in a supervisory role in the workplace need to be aware of their responsibilities with regard to food safety. Most food poisoning outbreaks can be traced back to a failure of those responsible for communicating and implementing hygiene standards. The Level 3 Qualifications ensure that supervisors are aware of the legislation applicable to food safety and how to best communicate the required standards to employees. Note: This course is still commonly referred to as intermediate food hygiene

Who is the course for?

The Level 3 Award in Supervising Food Safety in Catering is a qualification aimed at supervisors, team leaders and line managers working in the catering and other related industries for example those providing food in the care industry. The qualification is also suitable for those owning / managing smaller food businesses. The qualification is intended predominantly for candidates already working in catering.

What does the course cover?

Summary of Learning Outcomes

  • Introduction to Food Safety
  • Micro-organisms (Multiplication & Survival Hazards)
  • Contamination Hazards and Controls
  • Food Poisoning and its Control
  • Food Handlers and Personal Hygiene
  • Food Safety Management Systems and HACCP
  • HACCP from Purchase to Service
  • The Design and Construction of Food Premises and Equipment
  • Food Pests and Control
  • Cleaning and Disinfection
  • Supervisory Management
  • Food Safety Enforcement

Course Benefits

 An essential element of high food safety standards in any business is the ability to motivate, train and supervise staff to ensure they are competent food handlers. The relevant and practical style of the Level 3 Qualifications will ensure that supervisors have the confidence to lead by example, encourage good hygiene practices and take appropriate corrective action to make sure that all food activities are safe. On achieving a Level 3 Food Safety Qualification, competence to safely supervise others can be demonstrated.

 How is the qualification assessed?

 This is a single unit qualification, assessed by a 2 hour, 60 question multi-choice examination. Successful candidates must achieve a score of at least 40/60 Candidates will have achieved a merit if they achieve 50/60.